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Group 

 
Agency or Authority 

 
Law, Regulation and/or Policy Directives 

 

 
Enforcement Authority 

CHILD CARE 
Children in child care centers 
(excludes services without a 
contract or agreement 
between the parent and 
center for regular care of 
child) 

California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
 

CCR Title 22 Section 101220. All children 
must be evaluated for TB risk factors as part 
of the medical assessment required for 
admission (Form 701 or PM 171A) prior to, 
within 30 calendar days following child’s 
enrollment. Medical assessment should not 
be more than one year old when obtained. 

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 

Classified Teachers in child 
care centers  

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division  
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
 

HSC 1597.055 - SB 792 (2015) provides the 
alternative of a TB risk assessment 
administered not more than 1 year prior or 
7 days after employment or licensure as part 
of facility personnel health screening (Form 
503). If risk factors are identified, a TB test 
and examination should be performed by a 
health care provider to determine that the 
person is free of infectious TB.  No repeat 
exam. 

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 
through licensing visits by 
Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) 
Evaluator Transmittal No. 16APX-
16 -Appendix A- 2015 Chaptered 
Legislation 
 

Employees  & Volunteers 
other than teachers in child 
care centers  
 

California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
 
 
 
 

California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 22, 
Section 101216 
TB testing result required as part of facility 
personnel health screening (Form 503) 
not more than 1 year prior or 7 days after 
employment or licensure. No repeat exam. 
 

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 
through licensing visits by 
Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) 
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Family day care home adult  
applicants applying for 
licensure or any adult in the 
home during the time that 
children are under care 
Employees and Volunteers 
(who provide care and 
supervision to children) 
 

California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 

HSC Section 1597.54 SB 792 (2015) provided 
the alternative of a TB risk assessment 
administered not more than 1 year prior or 
7 days after employment or licensure as part 
of facility personnel health screening (Form 
503). If risk factors are identified, a TB test 
and examination should be performed by a 
health care provider to determine that the 
person is free of infectious TB.  No repeat 
exam. 
 

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 
through licensing visits by 
Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) 
Evaluator Transmittal No. 16APX-
16 -Appendix A- 2015 Chaptered 
Legislation 

CRISIS NURSERIES 
Volunteer caregivers 
 

California Department of Social 
Services (CDSS). Crisis nurseries 
are nonprofit corporations that 
care for and supervise children 
under 6 who are voluntarily 
placed in the crisis nursery by a 
parent or legal guardian due to a 
family crisis or stressful situation 
for no more than 30 days 

Health and Safety Code Section 1526.8 
requires caregivers in a crisis nursery to be 
tested for tuberculosis not more than one 
year prior to, or 7 days after initial presence 
in the facility. 

Licensed by CDSS, Community 
Care Licensing 

HEADSTART 
Students, employees & 
volunteers  

Federal program authorized under 
federal law 

Students are screened with TB risk 
assessment, per American Academy of 
Pediatrics recommendations, and tested if 
risk factors on admission. 
 45 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 
Chapter XIII, Subchapter B, Part 1302.93 and 
1302.94 Head Start Staff Health & Wellness: 
Federal Register 9/6/2016. Programs must 
ensure each staff member has an initial 

Head Start and Early Head Start 
programs are administered by 
the Office of Head Start (OHS), 
within the Administration for 
Children and Families (ACF), U.S. 
Department of Health and 
Human Services (HHS) 
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health exam in accordance with state, tribal, 
or local requirements that include screens or 
tests for communicable diseases.  The 
program must ensure staff does not, 
because of communicable diseases, pose a 
significant risk to the health or safety of 
others in the program.  No prescribed 
timeframe for re-examination is stated. 
 

OHS administers grant funding 
and oversight to the 1,700 public 
and private nonprofit and for-
profit agencies that provide Head 
Start services in the US 

K-12 SCHOOLS
Students in K-12 public, 
private, charter schools 
 

Local Health Officers (LHO)  
 

HSC 121475-121520,HSC121490 
TB risk assessment and if indicated, a test. 
Form typically used is the PM 171A-Report 
of Health Exam for School Entry. 
 
 

LHO has the authority to 
regulate; check locally because 
some counties have a TB risk 
assessment mandate. 
 

Teachers, employees, 
contractors & volunteers 
having contact with pupils in 
K-12 public, private, charter 
schools 
 
 
 
 

CA Department of Education (CDE) 
Services for Administration, 
Finance, Technology, & 
Infrastructure Branch,  
Personnel Services Division,  
916-319-0896 
Fax: 916-319-0511 
1430 N St. Sacto, CA. 95814 

Education Code (EC) 49406  
Health & Safety Code (HSC) sections 121525-
121555   
A TB risk assessment is administered within 
60 days of hire and if risk factors are 
identified, a TB test and examination should 
be performed by a health care provider to 
determine that the person is free of 
infectious TB.  Form required is TCB-01 with 
a signed certificate of completion.  Repeat 
risk assessments every 4 years (unless 
otherwise required).  
 
 

Delegated to the Local 
Superintendent of Schools 



California TB Screening Mandates by Groups and Occupations               Updated May 2018 

4 
 

 
Group 

 
Agency or Authority 

 
Law, Regulation and/or Policy Directives 

 

 
Enforcement Authority 

Heritage School Employees & 
Volunteers 
 
 

CA Department of Education (CDE) 
registers Heritage schools 
annually. EC Section 33195.4 
states that heritage schools serve 
students already attending K-12 & 
provide education or academic 
tutoring on the culture, tradition, 
language or history of a country 
other than the US. 

EC 33195.6 requires a TB test within the 
prior 60 days of initial employment or 
volunteer assignment and every 4 years 
thereafter. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CA Department of Education 
(CDE) at  
heritageschools@cde.ca.gov  or 
(916) 445-7331 

PARK & RECREATIONAL EMPLOYEES 
Park & Recreational 
employees or food 
concessionaire having contact 
with children in parks, 
playground, recreational 
center, or beach 
 

Parks & Recreation Departments 
of state and local governments 
 

California Public Resources Code (PRC) 
Section 5163 requires TB testing at initial 
employment and every 4 years thereafter 
 

Local, Regional and State 
government agencies who 
oversee Park & Rec employees 
 
 
 
 
 

COMMUNITY COLLEGES 
Employees in an academic or 
classified position in a 
California community college  

California Community Colleges 
Board of Governors and the 
Chancellor's Office, 
Eloy Ortiz Oakley (916) 322-4005 
 

EC 87408.6 -SB 1038 (2017) requires TB risk 
assessment administered within 60 days of 
hire and if risk factors are identified, a TB 
test and examination should be performed 
by a health care provider to determine that 
the person is free of infectious TB. Form 
required is TCB-01 with a signed certificate 
of completion. Repeat risk assessments 
every 4 years (unless otherwise required) 
 

State level- Board of Governors, 
Chancellor and locally, the 
governing board of the 
community college district 
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SCHOOLS FOR DEAF & BLIND 
ONLY located in Alameda & 
Riverside Counties Students 
attending Schools for the Deaf 
(in Fremont & Riverside) & 
Blind (Fremont) 

CA Department of Education 
 
 

EC 59150 
Students are tested for exposure to TB at 
least once every 2 years. The results shall be 
provided to the school director. The parent 
or guardian of the student is responsible for 
the cost 
 
 

CDE- Student Support & Special 
Services Branch  
-State Special Schools &    
Services Division 
Special School Director 
 
  

SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER TREATMENT PARTICIPANTS, STAFF AND VOLUNTEERS 
Participants of Substance Use 
Disorder Treatment Programs 
 
 
 
Personnel & volunteers of 
Alcohol & Drug Treatment 
Programs including  
 
 
 
 
 

DHCS Drug Medi-Cal Licensing & 
Certification 
Marlies Perez, Acting Chief 
1700 K Street,  
Sacto, CA 95811 
916-327-9223 
Marlies.Perez@dhcs.ca.gov  
 
 

Participants: CCR Title 9, Section 10567- TB 
test or IGRA not more than 6 months prior 
to or 30 days after admission.  
 
Personnel: CCR Title 9, Section 
10564(e)(B)(1):  
a test for tuberculosis performed not more 
than sixty (60) days prior to or seven (7) 
days after initial presence in the facility and 
annually thereafter 
Section 10564(e)(B)(3)volunteers: same as 
for personnel 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Department of Health Care 
Services enforces licensing 
requirements 
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HEALTH CARE WORKERS 
Health Care Workers  
Person who works in a health 
facility, service or operation, 
or who has occupational TB 
exposure in public health 
services in connection with 
health care 

CDPH Licensing & Certification 
1615 Capitol Avenue, MS 0512 
Sacto, CA. 95899 
(916) 324-6630 
 
Cal OSHA 
 
 
 
 

California Code of Regulation (CCR) Title 22, 
Div. 5, Ch.1-12  
 
CCR Title 8, Section 5199, Aerosol 
Transmissible Diseases Standard; 
Respiratory Protection Standard CCR Title 8 
Section 5144;  

CDPH Licensing & Certification 
enforces licensing requirements 
for hire & annual testing. 
Notifies health care facilities of 
policy changes through All Facility 
Letters 
 
Cal OSHA enforces employer 
requirements in ATD Standard 

Home Care Aides  
 
Effective January 1, 2015  
(If hired prior to January 1, 
2015, TB exam required 
before 7/1/15)  
 

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 
1615 Capitol Avenue, MS 0512 
Sacto, CA. 95899 
(916) 324-6630 
 
 

Health and Safety Code, Division 2 Section 1. 
Chapter 13 (commencing with Section 
1796.10)  
Chapter 13. Home Care Services. 
TB  testing 90 days prior or within 7 days 
after hire and every two years thereafter 
 
 

Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 

CORRECTIONS 
Inmates and parolees 
  
 
 

Jails: California  Board of State and 
Community Corrections 
 
 
 
Prisons: CA Department of 
Corrections & Rehabilitation 
(CDCR) & Parole Division 
 

Jails: April 2017- Handbook of the California 
Board of State and Community Corrections, 
CCR, Title 15, Section 1051. “At the time of 
intake into the facility, an inquiry shall be 
made of the person being booked as to 
whether or not he/she has or has had 
tuberculosis. “ Must comply with transfer of 
TB information in the HSC.  Penal Code 
Section 6030 
 

Jails: Title 15 Section 1206.5(a) 
The local detention facility’s  
responsible physician, in 
conjunction with the facility 
administrator and the county 
health officer, shall develop a 
written plan to address the 
identification, treatment, control 
and follow-up management of 
tuberculosis 
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Prisons: Penal Code Sections 3053,7570-
7576 
Exam or test for TB and any necessary 
follow-up or treatment according to Centers 
for Disease Control recommendations in 
effect at the time of the initial examination. 
 

Prisons: CDCR enforces 
requirements  
 
 

Employees  Jails: Baseline TB testing at hire and annually 
thereafter 
 
Prisons: Penal Code Sections 6006-6009  
Baseline TB testing at hire and annually 
thereafter  

Employer & Cal OSHA 

FIRST RESPONDERS 
First Responders EMTs, 
Paramedics, Firefighters, Law 
Enforcement 

California Emergency Medical 
Services Authority, Dr. Howard 
Backer, Director 10901 Gold 
Center Drive, Suite 400 Rancho 
Cordova, CA 95670-6073  
Phone: (916) 322-4336  
 
Cal OSHA 

CCR Title 8, section 5199 ATD Standard. This 
standard requires annual TB tests and 
mandated medical follow-up if the test 
indicates positive for TB. Respiratory 
Protection Standard CCR Title 8 Section 5144 

Employer & Cal OSHA 

 


