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TO: California Licensed Child Care Facilities
SUBJECT: Hib Vaccine 2008 Special Schedule for child care entry

Through 2008, we expect to face a nationwide shortage of vaccine that protects against
Haemophilus influenzae type b (commonly called “Hib”), the major cause of meningitis in young
children. Doctors will continue to give this vaccine, but one dose from the series will be
dropped. This will not create a risk of disease, but does affect an immunization requirement, as
the Hib vaccine is mandated for child care entry in California.

To allow children to be admitted to child care during this vaccine shortage, the California
Department of Public Health has issued a temporary Special Immunization Schedule, as
permitted by State law.

During 2008, children entering child care at ages 15 months to four years and six months
can be admitted with one dose of Hib, received at any age, regardless of when the dose
was administered. There are no other changes to the immunization requirements for child
care facilities; children younger than 15 months still require up to 2 doses for entry, depending
on their age.

For example, a child born June 1, 2006 who had one Hib dose on April 1, 2007 may still be
admitted during the vaccine shortage. The examples below show how this would look on the
child’s California Immunization Record (“yellow card”):
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To assist you with these changes, enclosed you will find:
e 2008 Special Schedule, Tables 1 and 2
e California Immunization Requirements for Child Care — IMM 230, Rev 1/08
e List of Local Health Departments
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We expect this change to continue through 2008. We will keep you informed when there are
changes in the future. If you have questions about the information in this mailing, please
contact your local health department.

Your role in checking and recording vaccinations is very important. We appreciate your efforts
to help keep California children safe from vaccine-preventable diseases.

Sincerely,

A (ade_

Howard Backer, M.D., M.P.H
Chief, Immunization Branch
California Department of Public Health

Encl: 2008 Special Schedule, Tables 1 and 2
California Immunization Requirements for Child Care — IMM 230, Rev 1/08
List of Local Health Departments.

cC: Gloria Merk, Program Administrator, Child Care Program Office,
California Department of Social Services
California Local Health Department Immunization Coordinators

Immunization Branch/Division of Communicable Disease Control
850 Marina Bay Parkway, Building P, 2" Floor, Richmond, CA 94804
(510) 620-3737 Internet Address: www.getimmunizedca.org




2008 SPECIAL SCHEDULE

Table 1: Immunization Requirements

Institution

Age

Vaccine

Total Doses Received

Child care center, day
nursery, nursery school,
family day care home,

Less than 2 months

None

development center
Same as above 2-3 months 1. 1 dose

2. 1 dose

3. 1 dose

4. 1 dose

Same as above 4-5 months 1. 2 doses

2. DTP, or combination of DTP

and diphtheria-tetanus toxoids. .. 2 doses

30 Hibe 2 doses

4. Hepatitis B 2 doses

Same as above 6-14 months To POIO e 2 doses
2. DTP, or combination of DTP and

diphtheria-tetanus toxoids. 3 doses

3. 2 doses

4. 2 doses

Same as above 15-17 months 1. Polio 3 doses

2. DTP, or combination of DTP and

diphtheria-tetanus toxoids....... 3 doses

3. Measles, rubella, and mumps.. 1 dose of each separately or combined on or after the st birthday

4. Hibo 1 dose at any age. (Changed from “On or after the 1st birthday.”)

5. Hepatitis B 2 doses

Same as above 18 months—5 years T POlIO it 3 doses 2008 SPECIGI Scl.ledule.uﬁecis

2. DTP, or combination of DTP and ONLY the Hib vaccine

diphtheria-tetanus toxoids....... 4 doses

3. Measles, rubella, and mumps.. 1 dose of each separately or combined on or after the 1st birthday

4. Hib’.. 1 dose at any age. (Changed from “On or after the 1st birthday.”)

5. Hepatitis B*. 3 doses

6. Varicella 1 dose

Elementary school at 4-6 years T POlIO e 4 doses, except that a total of 3 doses is acceptable if at least one
kindergarten level and dose was given on or after the 4th birthday
above 2. DTP, or combination of DTP and
diphtheria-tetanus toxoids...................... 5 doses, except that a total of 4 doses is acceptable if at least one
dose was given on or after the 4th birthday.

3. Measles, rubella, and mumps.................. 1 dose of each, separately or combined, on or after the 1st
birthday. Pupils entering a kindergarten (or first grade if kindergarten
skipped) are required to have 2 doses of measles-containing
vaccine, both given on or after the first birthday

4. Hepatitis B*.... 3 doses

5. Varicella 1 dose

Elementary school, 7-17 years T POlIO e 4 doses, except that a total of 3 doses is acceptable if at least one
secondary school dose was given on or after the 2nd birthday

2. Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids,

given as DTP, DT, or Td

(pertussis not required)... At least 3 doses. One more Td dose is required if the last dose was
given before the 2nd birthday. (See below for additional
recommendations for 7th grade enrollment, effective 7/1/99.)

3. Measles and rubella

(mumps not required) ........cccc.cecoeeueenne 1 dose of each, separately or combined, on or after the st birthday.
(See below for additional requirements for 7th grade enrollment,
effective 7/1/99.)

4. Varicella’.............ccccceeeeiiiiiveeeceeee. 1 dose aged 7 through 12 years for students not admitted to
California schools before July 1, 2001. 2 doses for students aged 13
through 17 years not admitted to California schools before July 1, 2001.

Seventh Crade* Any 1. Hepatitis B 3 doses
2. Measles........coooiuiiiiiiniccee 2 doses of measles-containing vaccine, both given on or after the

first birthday.

Recommended but not required:
Tetanus-diphtheria, given as DTP, DT,

Td or Tetanus.

One Td dose is recommended if 5 years or more have elapsed since
the last dose.

Any

18 years and older

None

1 Oral polio vaccine (OPV) or inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) or any combination of these vaccines is acceptable.

2 Applies only to children entering at kindergarten level (or at first grade level if kindergarten skipped) or below on or after August 1, 1997.
3 Required only for children who have not reached the age of 4 years 6 months.
4 Applies only to children (of any age) entering or advancing to the seventh grade on or after July 1, 1999.
5 Children admitted to California schools at the Kindergarten level or above before July 1, 2001 are exempt from this requirement.
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2008 SPECIAL SCHEDULE Table 2: Conditional Admission Immunization Schedule

Vaccine Dose Time Intervals
Polio’ Tstdose.........ooveeieiiiiiiiiinicccicccicceee. Before admission
2nd dose ... Asearly as 6 weeks but no later than 10 weeks after the 1st dose.

Before admission if 10 or more weeks have elapsed since the 1st
dose at the time of admission.

3rd dose .. Asearly as 6 weeks but no later than 12 months after the 2nd dose.
Before admission if 12 or more months have elapsed since the 2nd
dose at the time of admission.

4th dose (Required only for entry to
kindergarten level or above).. Age 4-6 years: If the 3rd dose was given before the 4th birthday
one more dose is required before admission.

Age 7-17 years: If the 3rd dose was given before the 2nd birthday,

one more dose is required before admission.

Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis

FOR PUPILS UNDER AGE 7 YEARS: st dose ... Before admission.

2nd dose ... Asearly as 4 weeks but no later than 8 weeks after the 1st dose.
Diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis (DTP) or Before admission if 8 or more weeks have elapsed since the 1st
combination of DTP and diphtheria-tetanus toxoids dose at the time of admission.

3rd dose .. Asearly as 4 weeks but no later than 8 weeks after the 2nd dose.

Before admission if 8 or more weeks have elapsed since the 2nd
dose at the time of admission.
4th dose ... Asearly as 6 months but no later than 12 months after the 3rd dose.
Before admission if 12 or more months have elapsed since the 3rd
OR dose at the time of admission.
5th dose (Required only for pupils ages
4-6 years for entry to kindergarten level
and aboVe)........ooiviiiiieeeeee If the 4th dose was given before the 4th birthday, one more
dose is required before admission.

FOR PUPILS AGE 7 YEARS AND OLDER: TSEAOSE.viereeteee e Before admission.

2nd dose ... Asearly as 4 weeks but no later than 8 weeks after the 1st dose.
Diphtheria-tetanus Before admission if 8 or more weeks have elapsed since the Tst
(Pertussis not required) dose at the time of admission.

3rd dose .. Asearly as 6 months but no later than 12 months after the 2nd dose.

Before admission if 12 or more months have elapsed since the 2nd
dose at the time of admission.

4thdose......cccoeeeennn ... If the 3rd dose was given before the 2nd birthday, one more dose
is required before admission.

Recommended but not required for 7th
grade entry’: Booster dose of Td................. Before entry, 1 Td dose is recommended if 5 years or more have
elapsed since the last dose of DTP, DT, Td or Tetanus.

Measles One dose only............ Before admission. If the pupil is under age 15 months, this dose is
required when age 15 months is reached.

Note: For children entering kindergarten (or first st dose ... Before admission.

grade if kindergarten is skipped) on or after August 1, | 2nd dose... As early as 1 month but no later than 3 months after the st dose.

1997, two doses are required. For children entering
7th grade on or after July 1, 1999, the series shall be
in process or completed.

Rubella One dose only...... Before admission. If the pupil is under age 15 months, this dose is
required when age 15 months is reached.

Mumps One dose only..........ccoooevieiiicieiiiinn Before admission. If the pupil is under age 15 months, this dose is
(Not required for pupils age 7 years and older) required when age 15 months is reached. 2008 Special Schedule
Hib affects ONLY the Hib vaccine
Children 2-14 months old Two doses....... st dose before admission. 2nd dose as early as 2 months but no
later than 3 months after the 1st dose.
Children 15 months—4 1/2 years old One dose....... At any age. (Changed from “Before admission.”)
Hepatitis B—For children entering at kindergarten Tst dose.....ovuerieennnn ... Before admission.
level (or first grade if kindergarten skipped) or below 2nd dose......... As early as T month but no later than 2 months after the first dose.
on or after August 1,1997. For children entering 7th 3rd dose ... Infants and children under age 18 months: As early as 2 months
grade on or after July 1, 1999, the series shall be in but no later than 12 months after the 2nd dose. Also, no earlier
process or completed. than 4 months after the 1st dose.

Children age 18 months and older: As early as 2 months but no
later than 6 months after the 2nd dose. Also, no earlier than 4
months after the 1st dose.

Before admission
As early as 4 weeks but no longer than 3 months after first dose

Varicella’ - For children aged 13 through 17 years not
admitted to California schools before July 1, 2001.

1 Oral polio vaccine (OPV) or inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) or any combination of these vaccines is acceptable.
2 Applies only to children (of any age) entering or advancing to the 7th grade on or after July 1, 1999.
3 Children admitted to California schools at the Kindergarten level or above before July 1, 2001 are exempt from this requirement.
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SPECIAL

SCHEDULE

CALIFORNIA IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR

Child Care 3CorH

REFERENCE Health and Safety Code, Division 105, Part 2, Chapter 1, Sections 120325-120380; California Code of
Regulations, Title 17, Division 1, Chapter 4, Subchapter 8, Sections 6000-6075
INSTRUCTIONS  To attend child care, children must have immunizations outlined below by age. Parents must present their
child's Immunization Record as proof of immunization. Copy the full date of each shot onto the blue Califor-
nia School Immunization Record card and then determine if the child is up-to-date. Blue cards are available
free from the Immunization Coordinator at your local health department. As the child care provider, it is your
responsibility to follow up regularly until all shots are finished.
Please note the temporary change in entry requirements for Hib.
IMMUNIZATIONS Age When Enrolling Immunizations (Shots) Required Vaccines
(SHOTS) 2-3months.......cccceeon... 1 each of Polio, DTaP, Hib, Hep B DTaP: Diphtheria, tetanus,
REQUIRED TO 4-5 months 2 each of Polio, DTaP, Hib, Hep B and pertussis combined vaccine.
ATTEND CHILD = 7 Droeeermereeemeees ! ! » Fep Record may show DT or DTP.
CARE. BY AGE 6-14 months............c..... 3 DTaP ] o
’ 2 each of Polio, Hib, Hep B Hib: Haemqphllus lnfluenzae
pR—— 15-17 months................. 3 each of Polio, DTaP tYF|>e fb oo required
" only for children up to age 4
2Hep B years, 6 months.

1 MMR, on or after the first birthday"
1 Hib at any age (Changed from
“on or after the first birthday”?)
18 months-5 years.......... 3 Polio
4 DTaP Varicella: Chickenpox vaccine.
3 Hep B
1 MMR, on or after the first birthday"
1 Hib at any age (Changed from
“on or after the first birthday”")
1 Varicella (chickenpox)?

MMR: Measles, mumps, and
rubella combined vaccine.

Hep B: Hepatitis B vaccine.

You may admit a child who is lacking one or more required vaccine doses if the dose(s) is not currently due on the
condition that they receive the remaining dose(s) when due, according to the schedule above. You will need to review
records to make sure this occurs. If the maximum time interval between doses has passed, the child cannot be
admitted until the next immunization is obtained.

' Receipt of the dose up to (and including) 4 days before the birthday will satisfy the child care entry immunization
requirement.

2 If a child had chickenpox disease and this is indicated on the Immunization Record by the child's
physician, they meet the requirement. Write "disease" in the chickenpox date box on the blue card.

WHEN NEXT
SHOTS ARE DUE

Polio #2 ..o, 6-10 weeks after 1st dose

Polio #3 ..ccooveveeeee 6 weeks—12 months after 2nd dose

DTP or DTaP #2, #3 ......4-8 weeks after previous dose

Hib #2 oo 2-3 months after 1st dose

DTP or DTaP #4 ............. 6-12 months after 3rd dose

Hep B #2 .o 1-2 months after 1st dose

Hep B #3 ..o Under age 18 months: 2-12 months after 2nd dose and at least 4 months after 1st dose

Age 18 months and older: 2-6 months after 2nd dose and at least 4 months after 1st dose

EXEMPTIONS

The law allows (a) parents/guardians to choose exemptions from immunization requirements based on their
personal beliefs, and (b) physicians of children to choose medical exemptions from them. The law does not
allow parents/guardians to choose an exemption simply because the "shot" record is lost or incomplete and it is
too much trouble to get to a physician or clinic to correct the problem. The back of the blue California School
Immunization Record has instructions and an affidavit to be signed by parents who want a personal beliefs
exemption. An up-to-date list of children with exemptions should be maintained separately by the child care
staff so that these children can be quickly identified and excluded from attendance if an outbreak occurs.

State of California ® Department of Public Health * Immunization Branch * 850 Marina Bay Pkwy. * Richmond, CA 94804 ¢ 510-620-3737 IMM-230 (1/08)
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Especial
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REQUISITOS DE LA INMUNIZACION DPRRALIFORNIA

Cuidado infantil ;E/BPH

REFERENCIA

Health and Safety Code, Division 105, Part 2, Chapter 1, Sections 120325-120380; California Code of
Regulations, Title 17, Division 1, Chapter 4, Subchapter 8, Sections 6000-6075

INSTRUCCIONES

Para asistir al cuidado infantil, los niflos deben estar vacunados como notado abajo por la edad del nifo.
Los padres deben presentar el Comprobante de Inmunizacién de su hijo antes de inscribirlo. Anote la
fecha completa (dia/mes/ano) de cada vacuna en el Comprobante de Vacunacion Escolar de California (la
tarjeta azul). De esa manera, puede determinar si el nifo esta al dfa. Las tarjetas azules se pueden solicitar
sin costo alguno al Coordinador de Vacunacion de su departamento de salud local. Como proveedor de
cuidado infantil, es su responsabilidad de dar seguimiento hasta que los nifios hayan recibido todas sus
vacunas. Por favor preste atencion al cambio provisional de los requisitos de entrada para Hib.

VACUNAS
REQUERIDAS
PARA ASISTIR

A LA GUARDERIA,

POR EDAD

IMMUNIZATION RECORD

Edad al inscribirse Vacunas requeridas
223 MESES ...cceeennnnnnnns 1 de cada una de las siguientes: poliomielitis, DTaP, Hib, Hep B
425 mMeses .....cceeeennnnn. 2 de cada una de las siguientes: poliomielitis, DTaP, Hib, Hep B
6a 14 meses .....cccceenn.... 3 DTaP

2 de cada una de las siguientes: poliomielitis, Hib, Hep B
15a 17 meses ................ 3 de cada una de las siguientes: poliomielitis, DTaP

2 Hep B

1 MMR en la fecha en que cumple un ano de edad, o después’
1 Hib a cualquiera edad (diferent a “la fecha en que
cumple un ano de edad, o después”)
18 meses a 5 aNos -......... 3 poliomielitis
4 DTaP
3 Hep B
1T MMR en la fecha en que cumple un ano de edad, o después’
1 Hib a cualquiera edad (diferent a “la fecha en que
cumple un ano de edad, o después”)
1 varicela

DTaP: Vacuna combinada contra la difteria, el tétano y la tos ferina. EI comprobante puede mostrar DT o DTP.

Hib: Vacuna contra la Haemophilus influenzae tipo b; requerida sélo para los nifos de hasta 4 afios y 6 meses de edad.

MMR: Vacuna combinada contra el sarampidn, las paperas y la rubéola.

Hep B: Hepatitis B.

Varicela: Vacuna contra la varicela.

Puede admitir a un nifo al que le falte(n) una o mas dosis requerida(s) de la(s) vacuna(s), pero que el intervalo maximo entre las dosis
no haya transcurrido, con la condicién de que reciba la(s) dosis restantes cuando se las tenga que aplicar, de acuerdo con el
esquema anterior. Usted tendrd que ver los datos para verificar que el nifio haya sido vacunado. Si transcurrié el intervalo de tiempo
méximo entre las dosis, no se puede admitir al nifio hasta que reciba la préxima vacuna.

" Recibo de la dosis hasta 4 dfas antes del cumpleanos satisface el requerimiento del registro de cuidado infantil.

2Si un nifo tuvo varicela y el médico lo document 6 en su registro de vacunacién, el requerimiento ha sido cumplido. Escriba
"enfermedad" en el area de varicela en la tarjeta azul.

CUANDO DEBE Poliomielitis No. 2 ................ entre 6 y 10 semanas después de la primera dosis
RECIBIR LAS Poliomielitis No. 3 ................ entre 6 semanas y 12 meses después de la segunda dosis
PROXIMAS DTP o DTaP No. 2, No. 3 ..... entre 4 y 8 semanas después de la dosis anterior
VACUNAS Hib NO. 2 o entre 2 'y 3 meses después de la primera dosis
DTPoDTaP No.4............... entre 6 y 12 meses después de la tercera dosis
HepBNo. 2. entre 1y 2 meses después de la primera dosis
Hep BNo. 3. Para los niflos menores de 18 meses de edad: entre 2 y 12 meses después de la
segunda dosis y al menos 4 meses después de la primera dosis
Para los nifios mayores de 18 meses de edad: entre 2 y 6 meses después de la
segunda dosis y al menos 4 meses después de la primera dosis
EXENCIONES La ley permite (a) que los padres o tutores opten por eximir a sus hijos de los requisitos de vacunacién a causa

de sus creencias personales y (b) que los médicos de los nifios opten por eximirlos de la vacunacién por
motivos médicos. La ley no permite que los padres o tutores opten por una exencién por el mero hecho de
que hayan perdido el comprobante de la vacunacién, o porque el comprobante no esté completo, y les
resulte demasiado incomodo ir a un médico o a una clinica para corregir el problema. El reverso de la tarjeta
azul de Comprobante de Vacunacién Escolar de California contiene instrucciones y una declaracién jurada
que debe ser firmada por los padres que deseen una exencién por sus creencias personales. El personal de la
guarderfa debe mantener una lista actualizada de los nifios con exenciones, a fin de que esos nifios puedan
ser identificados rdpidamente y excluidos de la asistencia si hay un brote.

State of California * Department of Public Health * Immunization Branch * 850 Marina Bay Pkwy. ¢ Richmond, CA 94804 ¢ 510-620-3737 IMM-230S (1/08)



California Local Health Departments

2008

County Coordinator Phone County Coordinator Phone
Alameda Leslie Greenwood, PHN (510) 268-2330 Orange Linda Scott (714) 834-8095
Alpine Lynette Bennett (530) 694-2146 Pasadena City |Rachel Estuar (626) 396-7228
Amador Lori Jagoda, PHN (209) 223-6407 Placer Eileen Johnson (530) 889-7175
Berkeley City |Vera Labat (510) 981-5329 Plumas Debi Bradfield (530) 283-6364
Butte Evelyn Jones (530) 538-6194 Riverside Karen Jones, RN (951) 354-1410
Calaveras Jill Sullivan (209) 754-6460 Sacramento Lynnan Svennson (916) 875-7468
Calaveras Linda Winn (209) 754-6460 San Benito Claudia Arnold, RN |(831) 637-5367
Colusa Jo Corbin (530) 458-0380 San Bernardino |Abigail Ryan (909) 383-3070
Contra Costa |Erika Jenssen, MPH (925) 313-6734 San Diego Adrienne Yancey (619) 692-5760
Del Norte Linda Nichols, RN (707) 464-3191 San Francisco |Amy Pine (415) 554-2837
El Dorado Valerie Rudd (530) 573-3156 San Joaquin Kathleen Tully (209) 468-3892
Debbie Jo Trinidade,
El Dorado Cathy Dunbar (530) 621-6112 San Luis Obispo |RN, MPH (805) 788-2043
El Dorado Lenette Mapes (530) 573-3144 San Mateo Robyn Ziegler (650) 573-2878
Tarol Cullen, PHN,
Fresno Peggy Richardson (559) 445-3550 Santa Barbara |BSN (805) 681-5462
Glenn Bill Price (530) 934-6588 Santa Clara Noel Panlilio (408) 792-3708
Humboldt Susan Wardrip (707) 268-2155 Santa Cruz Laurie Lang (831) 454-4646
Imperial Angela Ramirez (760) 482-4906 Shasta Kate Thomas Pasley [(530) 245-6584
Inyo Tamara Pound (760) 873-7868 Shasta Sue Holderman (530) 225-6584
Inyo Melissa Best-Baker (760) 873-7868 Sierra Janis Hardeman (530) 993-6700
Kern Ann Mcintosh-Walker, PHN (661) 868-0409 Siskiyou Lillian Lokey (530) 841-4058
(559) 582-3211
Kings Pat Harder x2619 Solano Paula Holm,SPHN (707) 553-5043
Lake Val Kuhn (707) 263-1090 Sonoma Michele Davis (707) 565-4573
Lassen Laura Ng (530) 251-8183 Stanislaus Nancy Bancroft (209) 558-7375
Long Beach City |Mary Wright (562) 570-4212 Sutter Vicki Coleman (530) 822-7215
Los Angeles |Michelle T. Parra, PhD. (213) 351-7800 Tehama Virginia Sandberg (530) 527-6824
Madera Kari Moore (559) 675-7893 Tehama Linda Wimer (530) 527-6824
Marin Christine Stipp (415) 499-3078 Trinity Carol Huang (530) 623-8218
Mariposa Marna Klinkhammer (209) 966-3689 Tulare Pam Sola, RN (559) 685-2535
Mendocino Jennifer Dutton, PHN (707) 472-2713 Tuolumne Jill Castle (209) 533-7434
Merced Karen Resner, RN (209) 381-1036 Ventura Lin Glusac (805) 981-5211
Merced Annie Carlson (209) 381-1025 Yolo Lynne Foster (530) 666-8571
Modoc Linda Nelson (530) 233-6311 Yuba Theresa McClain (530) 749-6366
Mono Margee Neer (760) 924-1830
Monterey Molly C. Hubbard, MS (831) 755-4683
Napa Diane Buchanen (707) 259-8738
Nevada Karen Smith-Sayer (530) 265-7265
January 2008
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