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  You have the right to a safe workplace. 
 

To protect employees from COVID-19, your employer must follow 

certain rules and must: 
  

• Give you a cloth face covering and instructions for using the 

mask correctly 

• Keep a clean bathroom that has soap, water, and paper towels 

• Make sure there is 6 feet of separation between workspaces and 

workers 

• Allow frequent breaks so employees can wash their hands 

•   Clean workspaces at least daily, with restrooms and frequently      

                 touched areas/objects cleaned more frequently  

• Check if workers are sick 

• Send sick workers home 
 

To protect yourself and others from COVID-19 at work, you must: 

• Wear a cloth face covering properly (over the nose and mouth) 

• Keep 6 feet away from others, even during breaks 

• Stay home if you are sick, or have been diagnosed with COVID-

19 

• Wash your hands often 
 

There are laws to protect your health and safety at your workplace. 

Each workplace must: 

• Have clean bathrooms with soap, water, toilet paper, and paper  

                 towels 

• Eliminate pests like rats, mice, and cockroaches 

• Make sure it isn’t too hot and/or dusty 

• Provide workspaces with good lighting 

• Give workers clean drinking water and disposable cups 

• Keep the workplace clean  
 

Know your rights and learn more here. If your employer is not providing 

these, please contact the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health 

at (888) 700-9995. You will not be asked about your immigration status 

and you don’t have to give your name. You may also submit complaints via 

the web at publichealth.lacounty.gov. by simply clicking on the ‘File a 

Report’ button at the top of the page, and then clicking on ‘Environmental 

Health Complaints’. 

For help with other employment issues, such as fair wages, breaks, and more, contact the 

California Labor Commissioner, Los Angeles District Office at 320 W. 4th Street, Suite 

450, Los Angeles 90013 or call (213) 620-6330. You will not be asked about immigration 

status and interpreters are available to help you. If you are experiencing financial 
challenges, you might be eligible for several available benefits from the Los Angeles 
County Department of Public Social Services (DPSS). To learn more or apply for 
benefits, click here: https://dpss.lacounty.gov/ or call 866-613-3777 

Key Points: 

• You and your employer both 

must make changes to keep 

you safe from COVID-19. 

• You can get help if your 

employer is not following the 

laws that protect your health 

and safety. 

For more information: 

 

Los Angeles County,  

Department of Public Health 
http://publichealth.lacounty.gov/ 

 

California Department of  

Public Health 

www.cdph.ca.gov/healthinfo 

 

Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) 
www.cdc.gov/diseasesconditions 
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