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To determine if you meet an exemption, please complete, and sign this form. Under specified conditions, vendor 
participants, non-profit organizations, blind persons, or veterans who participate in a community event may be exempt 
from County permit fees and/or the California Retail Food Code (Cal Code) requirements. Submit this form and required 
documents to communityevents@ph.lacounty.gov at least 30 days before the planned event. If eligibility is not met and a 
public health permit application is submitted less than 14 calendar days prior to the start of the event, an expedited 
processing fee of $50.00 will be assessed. 

COMMUNITY EVENT INFORMATION  
Name of Event: Date(S) of the Event: 

Address of Event:        City: Zip Code: 

Name of Organizer: Email: 

Mailing Address: Phone: 

TEMPORARY FOOD FACILITY APPLICANT INFORMATION 
Name of Applicant: Phone number: 

Mailing Address:      City:        Zip Code: 

Email: 

DECLARATION OF EXEMPTION 
Exemption Categories for TFF food booth/vendor. TFF booth may be exempt from a Public Health Permit (PHP) or 
California Retail Food Code (Cal Code) requirements based on the following. Check applicable section. 

☐ You are a for-profit entity, such as a permitted food facility and hold a valid Public Health Permit that:
• gives food away or sells food at an event with 100% of proceeds going to a nonprofit organization; and
• operates not more than three (3) days in a 90-day period; and
• received no monetary benefit, other than recognition from participating in an event. You are exempt from

permit and fee requirements. Provide a copy of the food facility’s PHP.
☐ You are registered with the IRS as a 501(c) (3) organization and will provide all meals free to the recipients.

You are not exempt from a PHP but exempt from the permit fees.
Please provide: IRS 501(c) 3 Determination Letter

☐ You are a veteran and may be eligible for the Veterans Fee Exemption. You are not exempt from a PHP but
May be exempt from the fees. Please refer to Application Affidavit Fee Exemption on pages 2-3.

☐ You are a Blind Person having not more than 10 percent (%) visual acuity in the better eye with corrections.
Refer to Application and Affidavit Fee Exemption on pages 2-3. You are not exempt from a PHP but exempt
from the permit fees.

I Declare and Certify under penalty of law, that the above stated facts and attachments are true and correct pursuant to 
the California Code of Civil Procedure.  

Print Name: __________________________________________Position/Title: ___________________________ 

Signature of Applicant:  _________________________________________________ Date: ________________  

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 

☐ Exemption Certification approved.
☐ Applicant does not meet the requirements for an exemption certification.

DPH EH Reviewer   Name: _______________________________________       Date: _______________________ 
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APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT FEE EXEMPTION 

For Veterans - This exemption is in accordance with Section 16102 of the California Business and Professions Code, 
which allows every Soldier, Sailor, or Marine of the United States who is disabled (unable to perform physical labor), 
honorably discharged, a registered voter, and a resident of the State of California to hawk, peddle, and vend any  goods, 
wares, or merchandise owned by him/her (except spirituous, malt, vinous or other intoxicating liquor) in an incorporated 
city without payment of any license, tax, or fee whatsoever, whether municipal, county, or state. 

For Blind persons - This exemption is in accordance with Los Angeles County Code, Title 8 section 8.04.670 which 
allows the blind person who otherwise would be entitled to such license or permit if such person files with the county 
health officer a certificate by a licensed physician and surgeon or by the Department of Rehabilitation of the state of 
California that has no more than 10 percent visual acuity in the better eye with corrections.  

This application/affidavit, together with listed documentation, is to be filed with the County Health Department in 
conjunction with the application for a Public Health Permit to operate a food sales business.  

SECTION I - APPLICATION 
1.BUSINESS NAME: ____________________________________________________________ 
2.BUSINESS LOCATION: ________________________________________________________ 
3.MAILING ADDRESS: __________________________________________________________ 
4.PERMIT NUMBER: ____________________________________________________________ 
5.BUSINESS OWNER (Veteran):___________________________________________________ 

6.OWNER ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________ 
7. BUSINESS DESCRIPTION:  Describe what kind of foods are sold and the type of facility they are sold from. 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 

8. BUSINESS ARRANGEMENTS WITH OTHERS: 
A. Describe ownership of products and how they are paid for. 
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________   
B. Describe franchises, consignment commission, and number of employees. 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________  

9. SOURCE OF FOOD SUPPLIES: Name and location. 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

10. PROOF OF OWNERSHIP OF BUSINESS: (SUBMIT COPIES) 

Business Lease: __________   Business License: _________ Board of Equalization: __________ 
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11. VERIFICATION OF OWNER IDENTITY: 
Driver License #: ________     State: _______   Class: _________    Expiration Date: _________  

Date of Birth: _____________   Other: _____________________________________________  

SECTION II – AFFIDAVIT  
For Veterans- I UNDERSTAND THAT I AM NOT ELIGIBLE FOR CONSIDERATION FOR A VETERANS’ 
EXEMPTION IF I ENGAGE IN THE SALE OF SPIRITUOUS, MALT, VINOUS, OR OTHER 
INTOXICATING LIQUOR. Initials _____  

THE FOREGOING IS TRUE OF MY OWN KNOWLEDGE, EXCEPT AS TO THE MATTERS WHICH ARE 
THEREIN STATED ON MY OWN INFORMATION AND BELIEF, AND AS TO THOSE MATTERS, I 
BELIEVE TO BE TRUE.  

I DECLARE AND CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY, BY THE LAW OF THE STATE OF 
CALIFORNIA, THAT THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT. 

Date: __________   Operator’s Signature: ______________________________________  
SECTION II B For Disabled Veterans 
 

 

For VETERAN’S OPERATING IN 
INCORPORATED CITIES: 
Please provide all the following: 

(A) Proof of Disability: copy of a California 
State Disability Insurance Office check 
stub, copy of payment history from the 
California State Insurance Office or a 
physician’s statement stating the veteran’s 
inability to perform physical labor (specific 
disability percentage rating must be 
met if the event is held in an 
incorporated city)  

(B) Copy of honorable discharge papers 
(DD214) or other evidence of honorable 
release from U.S Armed Services 

(C) Proof as a registered voter (from the 
Registrar of Voters) and proof as a 
resident of California (CA Driver’s 
License/Card) 

 

For VETERAN’S OPERATING IN 
UNINCORPORATED CITIES: 

Please provide the following: 

(A) Copy of honorable discharge papers (DD214) 
or other evidence of honorable release from 
U.S Armed Services 
 
 

For businesses that will operate only in the 
unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County: 

I, __________________, WILL OPERATE MY 
MOTORIZED ITINERANT BUSINESS ONLY IN THE 
UNINCORPORATED AREAS OF LOS ANGELES 
COUNTY. 

Operator’s Signature_________________________ 

OFFICE USE ONLY: 

APPROVED BY: ______________________ 

TITLE: ___________________________ 

DATE: ______________________ 

For BLIND PERSON 

Please provide Certification from the following: 

(A) By a licensed physician and surgeon OR 
(B) By the Department of Rehabilitation of the 

state of California that the blind person is 
having not more than 10 percent (%) visual 
acuity in the better eye with corrections 
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