Our Vision: A Healthy and Sustainable Environment for the Residents of Los Angeles County

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is a Food Handler Card (CFH CARD)?

A A California Food Handler Card (CFH Card) is a certificate that is required for all food employees
who are involved in the preparation, storage, or service of food in a food facility.

The CFH Card is obtained after attending a food safety training course and passing an examination
from an accredited organization. A listing of Accredited Organizations can be found at the American
National Standards Institute (ANSI) website at: www.ansi.org.

Q: What is a Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) certificate?

A A Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) certificate is required for the owner or an employee

of a food facility that prepares, handles, or serves non-prepackaged, potentially hazardous food.

e There shall be at least one CFPM person at each food facility.

o The CFPM certificate is obtained after attending a food safety training course and passing an
examination from an accredited organization.

A list of Accredited Organizations can be found at the www.ansi.org.

Q: What is the difference between the CFH Card and the CFPM certificate?

A: Both, the CFH card and the CFM certificate are required under the current laws and focus on
food handling, employee’s hygiene and the prevention of foodborne iliness. The differences are as
follows:

CFH CFPM

Training required At least 3 hours At least 8 hours
(including training and exam) (including training and exam)

Number of Questions during the 40 questions 80 questions

Examination

The certificate is valid for 3 years 5 years

Can | use the certificate in Can be used in multiple facilities Can only be used in one facility
multiple food facilities? at a time

Q: When is a CFH Card and a CFPM certificate required?

A There are different food facilities that require these certificates.

The CFH Card and the CFPM certificate are required when the food facility handles non-

prepackaged potentially hazardous food.
Page 10of 3

— —
October 21, 2020

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

Public Health

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health e Environmental Health f‘“‘“’%ﬁ :
www.publichealth.lacounty.gov/eh [P (
5050 Commerce Drive, Baldwin Park, CA 91706 ¢ (888) 700-9995 o "

Caupori\™


https://anabpd.ansi.org/Accreditation/credentialing/certificate-issuers/AllDirectoryListing?prgID=262&statusID=4
https://anabpd.ansi.org/Accreditation/credentialing/certificate-issuers/AllDirectoryListing?prgID=262&statusID=4

Our Vision: A Healthy and Sustainable Environment for the Residents of Los Angeles County

Note: Refer to the CCDEH guidelines for facilities that are exempted from the CFH Card at
www.ccdeh.com

Q: How many CFH Cards or CFPM certificates are required per food facility?

A There shall be at least one CFPM person at each food facility and any food employee who is in-
volved in the preparation, storage, or service of food in a food facility must have a CFH Card.

Q: How can | obtain a CFH card or the CFPM certificate?

A\ In order to obtain a CFH card or the CFPM certificate, the owner/employees must complete a
training course and successfully pass the exam issued by the accredited testing organization.

Q: How can I find an approved provider?

A The CFH card or CFPM certificate can be obtained by contacting one of the approved California

Food Handler Certificate Programs directly. Please see The American National Standards Institute
website at: www.ansi.org

Additionally, a listing of Accredited CFPM Programs can be found at www.ansi.org. Be sure your
training company uses one of the approve program listed.

Q: Are there certificate training courses and examinations offered in different
languages?

A\ Yes, the training courses can be offered in different languages, however the employee must
contact the provider to check for the availability of a specific languages.

Q: If | am already CFPM certified, do | also need a CFH Card?
A No, if you already have a CFPM certificate, you will not need to obtain a CFH Card.

Q: What would happen if my food facility does not have the certificates (CFH
Card or CFPM) when requested by the inspector?

A If the required certificates are not available on site at the time of inspection, your food facility
may be cited for violation of State Law.

Q: How long do | have to obtain a CFH Card or the CFPM Certificate if | just
opened my business?

A: A food facility that begins operation, changes ownership or, no longer has a certified owner or
employee, must obtain a CFPM certificate within 60 days.
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Employees (food handlers) that do not have a CFH card must obtain it within 30 days from their
hiring day.

Q: Can employees use their CFH Card or CFMP Certificate in more than one
food facility?

A: CFPM certificates cannot be used in more than one food facility. A CFPM may only serve at
one food facility as a CFPM.

California Food Handler Cards are accepted everywhere in California except Riverside, San Bernar-
dino and San Diego Counties where local programs already exist.
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